Getting Started with Homeschooling in the State of Georgia
Below you’ll find a summary of Georgia’s main homeschooling laws, current as of July 2017. To see the most current laws, visit the GA Department of Education.
Disclaimer: This website information does not constitute legal advice. Please reference official homeschooling information provided by the Georgia Department of Education.
All Georgia children from ages 6-16 must attend school or be homeschooled. The cut-off date for age is September 1st. (There’s no need to tell the State you’re homeschooling until your child turns 6 years old.) Just make sure you submit your Declaration of Intent form once you’ve begun officially homeschooling or by September 1st of each following year.
Parents/guardians who homeschool (or tutors hired by parents/guardians) must have a high school diploma or a GED. That’s it. Nothing too fancy required to educate our kids at home.
Declaration of Intent
Within 30 days of starting homeschooling, and by September 1st each school year or within 30 days after a program is established, parents need to let the state know they’re homeschooling and must file a Declaration of Intent with the state. It can be filled out and submitted online. *To file your DOI go to our Resources page.
Homeschooled students must complete the equivalent of 180 days of school (at 4.5 hours of school per day) each 365 day calendar year. This translates to 810 hours of school being completed in a 365 day period. The state allows you the flexibility in setting the schedule that works for your family. As of July 1, 2013, Georgia law indicated you are no longer required to submit an attendance form to Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE).
Specific curriculum choices are up to parents, but the law states that home study program shall provide basic academic educational program which includes, but is not limited to, math, english language arts, science, social studies, and reading, however, you may teach other content areas. School districts cannot monitor homeschoolers’ curricula. What you teach with and how you teach is up to you. It is your responsibility to research and purchase the curriculum that you decide upon. The state does not provide any materials for homeschoolers to use. See Resources for discounted curriculum.
Homeschoolers do not need to test annually. However, every three years beginning at the end of 3rd grade, they must take a nationally standardized test and retain the records for three years. (CRCT and EOCT are not nationally standardized test). The state does not have a list of specific tests required, and you’ll find with some tests, you are able to test at home.
Homeschooling parents do not have to issue formal report cards, but we do need to write a yearly progress report in each of the five required subject areas (reading, language arts, math, social studies, and science) and retain that assessment for three years. These assessments for our own records and do not get turned into the state. They can be as simple or complex as you want to make them.
Driving Permit or License
To obtain a driving permit or license, a copy of your submitted Declaration of Intent is all that is needed.
Work permit forms required by the Department of Labor in accordance with the law O.C.G.A. § 39-2-11 provides in part: § 39-2-11. Employment certificates — Required; requirements for issuance. GaDOE is ONLY responsible for issuing the Declaration of Intent (DOI) for the work permits. On receipt of your DOI, please access the Georgia Department of Labor for instruction on obtaining the Home Study Program Employment Certificate.